India News

Padma Awards 2018: Manoj Joshi, Vijayalakshmi Navaneethakrishnan Among The Awardees, See Full List


The recipients of the Padma Awards 2018 were announced on the eve of Republic Day.

This year, music composer Ilaiyaraaja, who has been in the industry for over 40 years now, won a Padma Vibhushan this year. He was conferred with the Padma Bhushan eight years ago.

Read: Ilaiyaraaja Conferred With The Padma Vibhushan

Classical musician Ghulam Mustafa Khan received the Padma Vibhushan too, along with Hindutva thinker Parameswaran. 

Here’s a list of all the awardees from the field of arts and music:

Hindustani classical musician and sitar player Arvind Parikh (Maharashtra) was awarded the Padma Bhushan.
Folk singer Sharda Sinha (Bihar) won the Padma Bhushan.
Folk singer Mohan Swaroop Bhatia (UP) won the Padma Bhushan.
Poet and lyricist Doddarange Gowda (Karnataka) won the Padma Shri.
Dancer Ramli Bin Ibrahim (Malaysia) won the Padma Shri.
Actor Manoj Joshi (Maharashtra) won the Padma Shri.
Classical singer Vijay Kichlu (West Bengal) won the Padma Shri.
Director and screenwriter Sisir Purushottam Mishra (Maharashtra) won the Padma Shri.
Tamil folk singer Vijayalakshmi Navaneethakrishnan (Tamil Nadu) won the Padma Shri.
Musicologist and danceologist R Sathyanarayana (Karnataka) won the Padma Shri.
Singer Ibrahim Sutar (Karnataka) won the Padma Shri.
Duo Rudrapatnam Narayanaswamy Tharanathan and Rudrapatnam Narayanaswamy Thyagarajan (Karnataka) won the Padma Shri.
Feature Image: YouTube / Twitter / The Hindu
© Copyright 2013 - 2016, Silverscreen Media Solutions Inc.