India's Premier Cinema Magazine

Tamil News

Karthick Naren’s Naragasooran Is All Set To Hit Screens


After a whole lot of delay, filmmaker Karthick Naren’s sophomore creation Naragasooran is finally ready to see the light of day. The film has given a U/A certificate by the censor board with no cuts and has a run-time of 110 minutes. It stars Arvind Swami, Shriya Saran, Sundeep Kishan, Aathmika and Indrajith in the lead.

The filmmaker took to Twitter to announce the news, which comes months after an unsavoury battle of words between the film’s erstwhile producer Gautham Vasudev Menon and the director.

#Naragasooran censored as U/A with no cuts. Runtime : 1 hr 50 mins. Release date will be announced soon. Trailer on the way 🙂

— Karthick Naren (@karthicknaren_M) July 19, 2018

In a notable development, Gautham’s name or his company Ondraga Entertainment’s logo is nowhere to be seen on the new poster. This, Karthick told Silverscreen in an exclusive interview, was something they had “mutually agreed upon”. “There is a great sense of relief now. Technically, we were ready to release the film in January-February. But, we were working on the post-production,” he said, minutes after the announcement on Twitter.

The young team is in talks with a couple of distributors and Karthick says Badri Kasturi of Shraddha Entertainment, who funded the film, is helping them with the release.

Though the team knew they were creating a film that would qualify for the U/A tag, Karthick says they are delighted that “the censor board were kind enough to let it pass without any cuts”.

Sometime in December 2017, the filmmaker, whose debut film Dhuruvangal 16 released on December 29, 2016 and went on to become a sleeper hit, posted the plot outline of Naragasooran.

The plot outline of #Naragasooran

— Karthick Naren (@karthicknaren_M) December 13, 2017

Karthick is already on to his next project, Naadaga Medai, said to be a light-hearted take on the modern society through the eyes of youngsters with different perceptions.


© Copyright 2013 - 2020 Silverscreen Media Inc.